Coconut Butter – Monday Made

Standard

I really love coconut. I love pretty much all things made with coconut.cocobutter2

I really want to make some Vegan Oreos, or maybe these Raw Oreos today, but realised that what I needed to make them was coconut butter. As it turns out, making that is not very hard at all.

From a 500g bag of shredded coconut I made two jars of butter. RE-SULT!

I used my Bellini, which is pretty much like a Thermomix or Vita-Mix when talking about blending power. You could use a regular blender too, but it might take a bit longer.

cocobutter1

What you need:

  • 500g shredded coconut
  • 2 sterilized jars

What to do:

  1. Put the coconut in your blender and set it to high for about 3 minutes or until it turns to liquid. Scrape down side if necessary. At this point, I guess you could add cocoa powder to it and some hazelnuts perhaps…..that sound a little bit like Nutella to me!
  2. Pour into jars and let set in fridge for a few hours.
  3. While you wait, grab a spoon and eat all the little bits left in your blender……..nomnomnomnom.

Leave a comment