Coriander Pesto – Monday Made

Standard

“Coriander (Coriandrum sativum), also known as cilantro (Spanish), Chinese parsley or dhania”

I love love love coriander.photo 1

The sad thing about coriander is that it wilts really fast so today when I saw big, beautiful bunches for a low price I decided I would need to find a way to keep it in my fridge longer…..

So, here is coriander pesto. When my basil gets a bit past it’s prime I always make pesto and keep it in the fridge for ages (or freeze in an ice cube tray).

It goes well with…..well, everything, in my opinion! Omit the honey to make this recipe truly vegan.

You might think me weighing my garlic is a bit O.C.D. however there is a very good reason for this. A little while ago I got a clove of garlic that covered up a large portion of my palm!! Imagine if you were a real beginner cook and didn’t know what your average garlic clove looked like?! DISASTER WOULD ENSUE!!

photo 2

What you need:

  • Large bunch of coriander (about 65g, including stems)
  • 5 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 pinches of salt
  • 1 smallish clove garlic (mine weighed 7g)
  • 70g Cashews (or other nut of your choice)
  • 1 generous tsp of honey (omit for vegan or use substitute)

What to do:

  1. roughly chop coriander (including stems) and garlic
  2. put all ingredients in your blender and blitz it
  3. store in a plastic container in the fridge for about 30 minutes to let the flavour develop.

HELLO MONSTER GARLIC!!!

IMG_6226

Leave a comment